Annie's Logo
February 2011Annie's News
Annie's Books on Peregian
8 Kingfisher Dve - Ph (07) 5448 2053
  


Dear Annie,

 

Music 

 

If music be the food of love, play on.......

As you all know, my first love is for books, books and more books, but my second is a love of music. Music has been a part of my life as long as books have, so I am "extra excited" about presenting two books from nationally successful, outstanding local musicians.   

 

Happy reading,

from Annie & Lyn

HAPPENINGS

JAY BISHOFF: "By Grace & Thumb
By Grace and Thumb

We love Jay.  Jay has brought us the wonderful phenomenon known as Peregian Originals, a free, outdoor, family friendly, fun event which sometimes brings thousands of music lovers to Peregian Beach on the first and third Sunday of each month. Jay himself is a skilled and successful musician with a busy tour schedule, as well as a promoter of musicians and festivals around the country. 

Jay BishoffHe can now add another string to his bow (guitar) - that of author.  In 2004 Jay answered an inner call to leave his comfortable life and head off on a massive hitchhiking journey around the USA in order to connect with his homeland.  He was travelling against the backdrop of a country at war, but found that people would still take a chance and help a stranger.  This is an engaging, humorous and insightful book which tells us all we would ever want to know about hitchhiking, and more.

THURSDAY 24th FEBRUARY - 6.00pm

ON THE FOOTPATH


THIS IS A FREE EVENT - But we would appreciate your call or email if you are going to join us. 


5448 2053 or anniesbooks@bigpond.com 
  

ANGE TAKATS: "Soundbites from a Songbird in Siam"
The Buffalo Funeral

"From buffalo funerals to Tiger Balm boob jobs, this memoir reveals the bizarre side of Thai life (and much more...")

Many of you will know the beautiful Ange, and will have enjoyed her wonderful, intimate album, "Aniseed Tea".  Ange is well on her way to song writing, recording and performing success, but she is a woman with a past!  At the tender age of 22, Ange left her comfy life in Sydney to work in the cut-throat, male dominated, international media in South-East Asia.  "There's a strong link between Thailand and my career as a musician because it was in Bangkok that I was offered my first gig.  Many of the songs on Aniseed Tea were inspired by that time, and I suppose this book is my way of sharing the stories behind the songs," says Ange.  Come on down and hear some of Ange's stories, and I'm thrilled to say that she will be entertaining us with her songs as well!

THURSDAY 7th APRIL - 6.00pm

ON THE FOOTPATH!


THIS IS A FREE EVENT.  But we would appreciate your call or email if you are going to join us.


5448 2053 or anniesbooks@bigpond.com


STOP PRESS!!!!!

Friends Like TheseWendy Harmer is also coming in April to promote her new novel "Friends Like These".  Details will come in the next newsletter.
BOOK NEWS

Painted CavesJean Auel - There will be a lot of excitement on 29th March when the 6th and final book in the Earth's Children series arrives.  The book is called "Land of the Painted Caves".  Why not reserve your copy now.

Amitav Ghosh - The second part of the Ibis Trilogy, "River of Smoke" will arrive in May.  There's time to read "Sea of Poppies" before then (and I encourage you to do so!)

Caleb's CrossingGeraldine Brooks - Yes, this is a big one!  "Caleb's Crossing" is fantastic historical fiction in the vein of "Year of Wonders", "March", and "People of the Book".
CUSTOMER REVIEWS

BY GRACE & THUMB - by Jay Bishoff

As a day to day hitchhiker, I found this book inspiring, realistic and extremely helpful.  As a human being, I found it compassionate, humble and touching down to the true definition of love.  I have travelled the United States over five times, but have never before from such an angle as the open road experience.  You can almost taste the dense heat of the asphalt as Jay Bishoff takes you on an adventurous journey across one of the biggest continents in the world, with only a backpack, guitar and his trusty thumb to help him along the way.  Through a diverse array of characters Jay has shown that trust is not yet lost in a world ruled by paranoia, that hitchhiking, although severely diminished, still has a pulse, and that it's never too late to live the dream.

Review by JAMES TRETHEWAY

MORE CUSTOMER REVIEWS

If you have a book you've loved (or hated), and want to share your thoughts, please email a short review to be included in the newsletter.  Just a paragraph or two will be appreciated.

                                                                 ***

Oliver Twist


As a reward for those who have read right through to the end......be the first to answer this question by email, and win a bundle of six great English literature titles from Vintage Classics!

 

What is the name and breed of the dog belonging to Bill Sykes in "Oliver Twist" by Dickens?

 

(Please note that I will only contact the winner - the first email to arrive with a correct answer)

 
Contact Information
phone: 07.5448 2053
email: info@anniesbooksonperegian.com.au
Join our mailing list!
This email was sent to info@anniesbooksonperegian.com.au by info@anniesbooksonperegian.com.au |  
Annie's Books on Peregian | 8 Kingfisher Drive | Peregian Beach | QLD | 4573 | Australia